Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
State of South Carolina. 2012 ‘S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-130, etc..’ Firearms Law Database - Dealer Regulations in South Carolina. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 3 January
Dealer Regulations in South Carolina
Federal law requires firearms dealers to obtain a license from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives (ATF), although resource limitations prevent the ATF from properly overseeing all its licensees.
South Carolina requires that any retail dealer selling or otherwise transferring a handgun, exposing a handgun for sale or transfer, or having a handgun in his or her possession with the intent to sell or otherwise transfer it must possess a dealer license.
The South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division ("SLED") must grant a dealer license to any person doing business in South Carolina who is not ineligible to purchase, acquire or possess a handgun or be licensed as a dealer. Licenses are valid for two years.
Licensed dealers are authorized to sell handguns at retail subject to the following conditions, the breach of any of which results in forfeiture of the license:
- The license must at all times and places of sale be available for inspection or displayed where it can easily be read;
- No handgun may knowingly be sold in violation of South Carolina law, and no handgun may be sold without clear evidence as to the identity of the purchaser;
- Applicants for a dealer license must post with SLED a bond in favor of the state with surety in the amount of $10,000. In lieu of a bond, a cash deposit or a deposit of other securities acceptable to SLED $10,000 in value are acceptable;
- Dealers must make available for inspection by the chief of SLED or his or her agents, during normal business hours, all handguns in their possession;
- Applicants for a license shall furnish to SLED a current federal firearms license and are required to maintain that federal firearms license in good standing as a condition of holding a South Carolina retail dealer license; and
- Any violation of South Carolina law by a dealer will result in forfeiture of the dealer license…