Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2021 ‘Concealed Carry in Nevada.’ Guns in Public. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 3 August
Concealed Weapons Permitting in Nevada
Nevada is a "shall issue" state, meaning that local law enforcement must issue a concealed firearm permit if the applicant meets certain qualifications.
Any person who is a resident of Nevada may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he or she resides for a concealed firearm permit. The sheriff must issue a permit to carry revolvers, semi-automatic firearms, or both types of firearms, to any person qualified to possess each such firearm, who:
- Is 21 years of age or older;
- Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm; and
- Demonstrates competence with the type of firearm for which the applicant seeks to be licensed by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that he or she successfully completed an approved course in firearm safety, including instruction in the use of each firearm to which the application pertains and in the laws of Nevada relating to the use of a firearm.
The sheriff must deny an application or revoke an existing permit if he or she determines that the applicant or permittee:
- Has an outstanding warrant for his or her arrest;
- Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane;
- Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding five years;
- Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
- Has been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor during the immediately preceding three years;
- Has been convicted of a felony in Nevada, any other state, or under federal law;
- Has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or is currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence;
- Is currently on parole or probation;
- Has, within the immediately preceding five years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to the court's withholding of the entry of judgment for his or her conviction of a felony, or suspension of his or her sentence for the conviction of a felony; or
- Has made a false statement on any application for a concealed firearm permit or for the renewal of a permit.
In addition, the sheriff may deny an application or revoke a permit if he or she receives a "sworn affidavit stating articulable facts based upon personal knowledge" from any person 18 years of age or older that the applicant or permittee is prohibited from possessing a permit. In addition, if the sheriff receives notification from a court or law enforcement agency that a permittee or applicant has been charged with a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the conviction for which would require the revocation of a permit or preclude the issuance of a permit, the sheriff must suspend the person's permit or the processing of his or her application until the final disposition of the charges.
The fee for a permit is set by the issuing sheriff, but may not exceed $60.
Sheriffs have the authority to issue temporary permits. For every temporary permit issued, the sheriff must provide information concerning the permit and the person to whom it has been issued to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History.
Nevada prohibits any person from carrying concealed upon his or her person any firearm without a valid permit issued under state law.
Firearm Safety Training
Applicants for a concealed firearm permit must demonstrate competence with the type of weapon that the applicant seeks to carry (i.e., revolvers, semiautomatic firearms, or both revolvers and semiautomatic firearms), by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that the applicant:
- Successfully completed a course in firearm safety approved by a sheriff in Nevada; or
- Successfully completed a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety.
The course must include specific instruction in the use of the type of firearm for which a permit is sought, as well as instruction on Nevada's laws relating to the use of a firearm. A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety unless the sheriff determines that the course meets any standards that are established by the Nevada Sheriffs' and Chiefs' Association.
Duration & Renewal
A concealed firearm permit expires roughly five years from the date of issuance or renewal, the expiration date being the permittee's birthday nearest the date of issuance or renewal.
Disclosure or Use of Information
Generally, an application for a concealed firearm permit, all information contained within that application, and all information provided to a sheriff or obtained by a sheriff in the course of his or her investigation, are confidential. Any records regarding an applicant or permittee may be released to a law enforcement agency for the purpose of conducting an investigation or prosecution, and statistical abstracts of data compiled by a sheriff, including, but not limited to, the number of applications received and permits issued, may be released to any person.
On or before July 1 of each year, the Nevada Department of Public Safety must:
- Examine the requirements for the issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm in every state to determine whether the requirements of other states are substantially similar to or more stringent than Nevada's concealed weapons permitting requirements;
- Determine whether each state has an electronic database which identifies each individual who possesses a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm that a Nevada law enforcement officer may access at all times through a national law enforcement telecommunications system; and
- Prepare a list of states that meet the aforementioned requirements and provide the list to each law enforcement agency in Nevada.
A person who possesses a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by a state included in the list may carry a concealed firearm in Nevada in accordance with Nevada's concealed firearm permitting laws. A person who possesses a permit to carry a concealed firearm that was issued by a state included in the list may not carry a concealed firearm in Nevada if the person:
- Becomes a Nevada resident; and
- Has not been issued a permit from the sheriff of the county in which he or she resides within 60 days after becoming a Nevada resident…
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]