Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library

State of Wisconsin. 2012 ‘Wis. Stat. § 175.35(2)(d), etc..’ Gun Sales. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 3 January

Relevant contents

Waiting Periods in Wisconsin

A federally licensed firearms dealer in Wisconsin may not transfer a handgun to any person until 48 hours have elapsed from the time the dealer has been notified, via a background check confirmation number from the Wisconsin Department of Justice ("DOJ"), that the transfer does not violate any provision of Wisconsin Statutes § 941.29…

If the search indicates a felony charge without a recorded disposition of the charge, the 48 hour-deadline is extended to the end of the third complete working day commencing after the day on which the finding is made. During this brief extension, DOJ is required to make every reasonable effort to determine the disposition of the charge and notify the firearms dealer of the results as soon as practicable…

ID: Q7160

As many publishers change their links and archive their pages, the full-text version of this article may no longer be available from the original link. In this case, please go to the publisher's web site or use a search engine.