Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library

Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2021 ‘Maintaining Records of Gun Sales in Connecticut.’ Gun Sales. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 19 June

Relevant contents

[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]

Retention of Sales and Background Check Records in Connecticut

Connecticut requires vendors of pistols and revolvers to maintain records of sales of such guns, including the name, address and occupation of the purchaser, as well as the date of sale and caliber, make, model and manufacturer's number of each pistols or revolver. The record must be signed by the purchaser and the seller, each in the presence of the other, and must be maintained for a minimum period of six years.

A separate recordkeeping provision requires any person, firm or corporation selling a pistol or revolver to give a receipt to the purchaser of the handgun containing the name and address of the purchaser, the date of sale, the caliber, make, model and manufacturer's number of the handgun, a general description of the handgun, the identification number of the purchaser's permit to carry a handgun, permit to sell a handgun at retail, or eligibility certificate for a handgun, the authorization number for the transfer issued by the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, and the purchaser's signature. The seller must provide a copy of the receipt, within 48 hours of the sale, to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection and local law enforcement. The seller must retain a copy of this receipt for a minimum period of five years.

For transfers of long guns (rifles and shotguns) at retail, the purchaser must sign in triplicate a receipt for the gun containing his or her name and address, the date of sale, the caliber, make, model and manufacturer's number of the long gun, and a general description of the gun. The vendor must transfer one copy of the receipt to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection and another receipt to the local law enforcement authority within 24 hours of delivery of the gun to the purchaser. The vendor must retain the final receipt with the original purchase application for at least five years.

Finally, any person, firm or corporation who seeks to sell a long gun at retail or a handgun (whether a licensed dealer or private seller) must have the transferee complete a written application and retain the application for at least 20 years or until he or she goes out of business, and must make the application available for inspection during normal business hours by law enforcement…

ID: Q7068

As many publishers change their links and archive their pages, the full-text version of this article may no longer be available from the original link. In this case, please go to the publisher's web site or use a search engine.