Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2021 ‘Minimum Age to Purchase & Possess in Rhode Island.’ Who Can Have a Gun. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 28 July
Minimum Age to Purchase and Possess in Rhode Island
A person must be at least 21 years of age to purchase a handgun in Rhode Island. The state also prohibits any person from selling a handgun to any individual under age 21.
To possess and use any firearms and ammunition, Rhode Island citizens must be at least 18 years of age, unless:
- The minor holds a permit to be engaged in training at a camp or rifle range under the written consent of a parent or guardian and in the presence of a parent, guardian or other supervising adult;
- The minor is engaged in hunting under the supervision of a parent, guardian or qualified adult; or
- The minor is in reserve officer training, target shooting or parade activities.
Rhode Island generally prohibits any person from selling, transferring, giving, conveying or causing to be sold, transferred, given or conveyed, any firearm or ammunition to any person under age 18, when the person knows or has reason to know that the recipient is under age 18…
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]