Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2021 ‘Minimum Age to Purchase & Possess in Michigan.’ Who Can Have a Gun. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 18 June
Minimum Age to Purchase and Possess in Michigan
In Michigan, a person under the age of 18 may not possess a firearm in public except under the direct supervision of an individual 18 years of age or older.
Michigan prohibits any person from knowingly selling a firearm "more than 30 inches in length" to a person under age 18.
Michigan prohibits issuance of a handgun purchase license to any person under age 18. If the handgun is to be purchased from a federally licensed dealer, the applicant must be age 21 or older.
A concealed carry permit may not be issued to a person under 21 years of age.
Federal law imposes additional age limits…
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]