Trouvez des Faits

Prévention de la violence armée, lois sur le contrôle des armes à feu et commerce des armes légères :

Sahara occidental — Faits, chiffres et lois sur les armes à feu

TransfertsCommerce et trafic des armes à feu

Importation des armes à feu

Importations d'armes légères (US$) - Douanes

La valeur annuelle d'armes légères et de munitions importées vers le Sahara occidental est évaluée, selon les douanes, à 161 9971US$ (2001)

MesuresRéglementation sur les armes à feu

Droit de posséder des armes à feu

Sahara occidental: le droit de posséder des armes à feu n'est pas garanti par la loi2 3

MesuresContrôles internationaux

Accords régionaux

Union Africaine

En juin 2006, en tant que membre de l'Union Africaine, le Sahara occidental a adopté la Position commune africaine pour prendre par à la Conférence d'examen de juin 2006 du Programme d'action des Nations Unies en vue de prévenir, combattre et éliminer la commerce illicite des armes légères sous tous ses aspects (PANU)4 5

Membre des Nations Unies

Selon la liste officielle des états membre de l'ONU, le Sahara occidental n'est pas un état membre6

Arrangement de Wassenaar

Le Sahara occidental ne fait pas partie7 des États participants à l'Arrangement de Wassenaar sur le contrôle des exportations d'armes classiques et de biens et technologies à double usage

ContexteProfil des objectifs de développement durable

ODD 16

Les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) sont 17 objectifs définis par les Nations unies et devant être mis en œuvre par tous les États membres jusqu'en 2030. Adoptés en 2015, ils définissent une vision du développement dont la paix et la sécurité font partie intégrale. L'ODD 16,8 qui vise à "promouvoir l’avènement de sociétés pacifiques et inclusives aux fins du développement durable", comprend des cibles et des indicateurs axés sur la réduction de la violence (cible 16.1) et la prolifération des armes illicites (cible 16.4). Les indicateurs - ou critères de mesure - de ces objectifs comprennent le nombre de victimes d'homicides intentionnels (indicateur 16.1.1), le nombre de décès liés aux conflits (indicateur 16.1.2) et le nombre d'armes à feu illicites collectées et tracées (indicateur 16.4.2). À la suite de ces objectifs et indicateurs, GunPolicy.org fournit des données nationales granulaires concernant les homicides, les homicides par arme à feu, les décès liés aux conflits, les efforts de désarmement, et le marquage et le traçage.

Indice mondial de la paix

Pour voir le classement du Sahara occidental, veuillez cliquer sur l'icône «Lien» pour ouvrir le site externe de l'indice mondial de paix (Global Peace Index, GPI), et cliquez ensuite sur le Sahara occidental sur la carte ou dans le menu "Select Country" à droite de la page web


Références

1.

Marsh, Nicholas.2014.‘Database of Authorised Transfers of Small Arms and Light Weapons.’ NISAT Small Arms Trade Database.Oslo:Norwegian Initiative on Small Arms Transfers,22 December. (Q16)Full Citation

2.

Sherman, Amy and Tom Ginsburg.2014.‘Gun Rights in National Constitutions.’ Marco Rubio Says Second Amendment Is Unique in Speech to NRA.Miami, FL:Miami Herald (PolitiFact Florida),29 April. (Q8507)Full Citation

3.

Zachary Elkins, Tom Ginsburg and James Melton. 2013. ‘U.S. Gun Rights Truly Are American Exceptionalism.’ Bloomberg (USA). 7 March. (N422) Full Citation

4.

African Union / UNODA.2005.‘Windhoek Common Position.’ United Nations Programme of Action Implementation Support System: Regional Organisations.New York, NY:African Union / United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs,14 December. (Q3216)Full Citation

5.

African Union.2015.‘Member States.’ African Union: A United and Strong Africa.Addis Ababa:African Union,10 August. (Q10548)Full Citation

6.

UN.2013.‘Member States of the United Nations.’ UN.org Web Site.New York, NY:United Nations General Assembly,7 April. (Q290)Full Citation

7.

Wassenaar Arrangement.1996.‘Introduction: Participating States.’ Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls and Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies.Vienna:Wassenaar Secretariat,12 July. (Q19)Full Citation

8.

United Nations.2017.‘Relevant Targets & Indicators.’ Sustainable Development Goal 16.New York NY:United Nations Statistics Division,6 July. (Q14093)Full Citation

Find Gun Policy Facts

Armed violence prevention, gun control laws and the small arms trade:

Western Sahara — Gun Facts, Figures and the Law

TransfersGun Trade and Trafficking

Firearm Imports

Small Arms Imports (US$) - Customs

The annual value of small arms and ammunition imports to Western Sahara is reported by Customs to be US$161,9971 (2001)

MeasuresGun Regulation

Right to Possess Firearms

In Western Sahara, the right to private gun ownership is not guaranteed by law2 3

MeasuresInternational Controls

Regional Agreements

African Union

In June 2006, as a member of the African Union, Western Sahara adopted an African Common Position to take to the Conference to Review the UN Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All Its Aspects (UNPoA), held in June 20064 5

United Nations Membership

In the UN List of Member States, Western Sahara is not a Member State of the United Nations6

Wassenaar Arrangement

The Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls and Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies does not list7 Western Sahara as a Participating State

BackgroundSustainable Development Goal Profile

About SDG 16

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are 17 goals set by the United Nations to be implemented by all member states by 2030. Adopted in 2015, they outline a vision of development in which peace and security are an integral part. SDG 16,8 which seeks to “promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development,” includes targets and indicators focused on reducing violence (Target 16.1) and the proliferation of illicit arms (Target 16.4). The indicators – or measurement criteria – of these targets include the number of victims of intentional homicide (Indicator 16.1.1), the number of conflict-related deaths (Indicator 16.1.2), and the number of illicit firearms collected and traced (Indicator 16.4.2). In light of these targets and indicators, GunPolicy.org provides granular national data pertaining to homicides, gun homicides, conflict deaths, disarmament efforts, and marking and tracing.


Short References

1.

Marsh, Nicholas.2014.‘Database of Authorised Transfers of Small Arms and Light Weapons.’ NISAT Small Arms Trade Database.Oslo:Norwegian Initiative on Small Arms Transfers,22 December. (Q16)Full Citation

2.

Sherman, Amy and Tom Ginsburg.2014.‘Gun Rights in National Constitutions.’ Marco Rubio Says Second Amendment Is Unique in Speech to NRA.Miami, FL:Miami Herald (PolitiFact Florida),29 April. (Q8507)Full Citation

3.

Zachary Elkins, Tom Ginsburg and James Melton. 2013. ‘U.S. Gun Rights Truly Are American Exceptionalism.’ Bloomberg (USA). 7 March. (N422) Full Citation

4.

African Union / UNODA.2005.‘Windhoek Common Position.’ United Nations Programme of Action Implementation Support System: Regional Organisations.New York, NY:African Union / United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs,14 December. (Q3216)Full Citation

5.

African Union.2015.‘Member States.’ African Union: A United and Strong Africa.Addis Ababa:African Union,10 August. (Q10548)Full Citation

6.

UN.2013.‘Member States of the United Nations.’ UN.org Web Site.New York, NY:United Nations General Assembly,7 April. (Q290)Full Citation

7.

Wassenaar Arrangement.1996.‘Introduction: Participating States.’ Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls and Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies.Vienna:Wassenaar Secretariat,12 July. (Q19)Full Citation

8.

United Nations.2017.‘Relevant Targets & Indicators.’ Sustainable Development Goal 16.New York NY:United Nations Statistics Division,6 July. (Q14093)Full Citation