Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2023 ‘Concealed Carry in Connecticut.’ Guns in Public. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 3 February
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]
Concealed Weapons Permitting in Connecticut
Connecticut requires any person that seeks to carry a pistol or revolver to obtain a permit. No permit is needed to carry a pistol or revolver within one's own "dwelling house or place of business."
Connecticut is a "may issue" state, meaning that local law enforcement has discretion in determining whether or not to issue a permit to carry a handgun to an applicant.
Connecticut's permitting law does not distinguish between carrying a handgun concealed and carrying openly. A chief of police, warden or selectman may issue a permit to carry a handgun to a person who:
- Has a bona fide residence or place of business within the jurisdiction in which he or she is applying;
- Intends to make only lawful use of the handgun for which the permit will be issued;
- Is a "suitable person" to receive a permit;
- Has successfully completed a course approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection in the safety and use of handguns;
- Has not been convicted of a felony or of a violation of:
- Criminal possession of a narcotic substance;
- Criminally negligent homicide;
- Assault in the third degree or assault in the third degree of an elderly, blind, pregnant, or disabled person, or a person with an intellectual disability;
- Threatening in the second degree;
- Reckless endangerment in the first degree;
- Unlawful restraint in the second degree;
- Riot in the first or second degree or inciting to riot; or
- Stalking in the second degree;
- Has not been convicted as a delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile offense;
- Has not been discharged from custody within the preceding 20 years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect;
- Has not been confined in a hospital for persons with psychiatric disabilities within the preceding 12 months by order of a probate court;
- Is not subject to a restraining or protective order issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person;
- Is not subject to a firearms seizure order issued for posing risk of imminent personal injury to self or others after notice and a hearing;
- Is not prohibited from shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving a firearm pursuant to the mental health prohibitions under federal law;
- Is not an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States; and
- Is at least 21 years of age.
Any person violating the concealed weapons permitting provisions will, in addition to other criminal penalties, be forced to forfeit any handgun found in his or her possession.
Firearm Safety Training
Connecticut requires that applicants for a state concealed weapons permit first successfully complete a course approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection in the safety and use of pistols and revolvers including, but not limited to, a safety or training course in the use of pistols and revolvers available to the public offered by a law enforcement agency, a private or public educational institution or a firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection, and a safety or training course in the use of pistols or revolvers conducted by an instructor certified by the state or the National Rifle Association.
Duration & Renewal
A permit to carry a handgun is valid for up to five years from the date the permit became effective. Each renewal permit is valid for five years. Connecticut enacted a law in 2011 allowing individuals to renew permits by mail. There is no safety training requirement upon renewal.
Disclosure or Use of Information
Connecticut does not allow personal application or permit information of concealed weapons permit holders to be made public. The name and address of a person issued a state permit to carry a handgun or a local permit to carry a handgun issued prior to October 1, 2001 (the effective date of the law authorizing state-issue permits in place of local permits), may not be disclosed, except to:
- Law enforcement officials acting in the performance of their duties;
- Firearms transferors making requests for verification that such state, local or temporary state permit is still valid and has not been suspended or revoked; and
- The Commissioner of Mental Health and Addiction Services for persons subject to an order of mental health commitment.
A bona fide resident of the United States who does not reside or work in Connecticut and holds a concealed handgun permit issued by another state may apply to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection for a permit to carry a handgun in Connecticut…