Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2023 ‘Concealed Carry in Alaska.’ Guns in Public. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2 June
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]
Concealed Weapons Permitting in Alaska
Alaska does not require a permit to carry a concealed firearm. On June 11, 2003, the Governor of Alaska signed legislation amending Alaska law to allow anyone age 21 or older who may legally possess a firearm to carry a concealed firearm without having to obtain a permit.
Alaska retained its permitting system for those who want reciprocity with other states, or those who seek to be exempt from background checks when purchasing additional firearms. For those seeking a permit, Alaska is considered a "shall issue" state, meaning that the Alaska Department of Public Safety ("Department") must issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun if the applicant meets certain qualifications. The basic qualifications to obtain a permit require that an applicant:
- Be at least 21 years of age;
- Be eligible to own or possess a handgun under state and federal law;
- Have been a resident of Alaska for the preceding 90 days;
- Not have been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors (or similar laws in another jurisdiction) within the preceding six years; and
- Not currently be in, nor in the preceding three years been ordered by a court to complete, an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program.
A municipality may not restrict the carrying of a concealed handgun by permit issued in accordance with Alaska law.
Firearm Safety Training
Alaska law requires each applicant for a permit to carry a concealed handgun to demonstrate competence with a handgun through successful completion of a course and receipt of a certificate.
Duration & Renewal
Under Alaska's concealed handgun permitting process, a permit is valid for five years from the date of issue.
Disclosure or Use of Information
Alaska does not allow the application, permit or renewal information of concealed handgun permit holders to be made public. Such records may only be used for law enforcement purposes.
A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political subdivision of another state is considered a permittee under Alaska law. The Alaska Department of Public Safety is required to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal authority to enter into such agreements so permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states…
Last accessed at: