Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library

Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2021 ‘Registration in New York.’ Owner Responsibilities. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2 August

Relevant contents

Registration of Firearms in New York

Assault Weapons

New York law requires the registration of weapons that constitute "assault weapons" as defined by statute that were lawfully possessed prior to January 15, 2013…

An individual must make an application to register the assault weapon with the Division of State Police or apply to amend a firearm license on or before January 15, 2014. Registration means providing personal information, including race and social security information, and a description of the weapon. If a person unknowingly fails to register his or her weapon by January 15, 2014, law enforcement must give that person a warning, after which time the person will have an additional 30 days to register. Failure to register within 30 days results in forfeiture.

All registrants must recertify to the Division of State Police every five years after the initial registration. Failure to recertify will result in revocation of the registration.

Assault weapons manufactured more than 50 years ago that constitute "curios or relics" can be lawfully possessed, but must be registered with the state. A registration of a "curio or relic" that qualifies as an assault weapon is transferable, provided that the seller notifies the state police within 72 hours of the transfer and the buyer of the curio or relic provides the police with information sufficient to constitute a registration. Such curio or relic that is transferred into New York must be registered within 30 days.

Large Capacity Ammunition Magazines

New York only requires the registration of a large capacity ammunition magazine that qualifies as a "curio or relic" under state law (manufactured at least 50 years before January 15, 2013). Such large capacity magazine must be registered with the Division of State Police, and if such magazines are transferred into the state, the owner must register them within 30 days.

Handguns

New York does not require the registration of handguns. However, all handgun owners must obtain a license identifying each handgun they own…

[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]

ID: Q7522

As many publishers change their links and archive their pages, the full-text version of this article may no longer be available from the original link. In this case, please go to the publisher's web site or use a search engine.