Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
State of New Jersey. 2012 ‘N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-2a(5)(a), etc..’ Firearms Law Database - Waiting Periods in New Jersey. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 3 January
Waiting Periods in New Jersey
New Jersey prohibits the delivery of a handgun by any retail firearms dealer to any person unless the person possesses a valid permit to purchase a handgun and at least seven days have elapsed since the date of application for the permit.
Since each permit to purchase a handgun is valid for only one handgun purchase, this effectively creates a seven-day waiting period for all handgun sales.
The waiting period to obtain the permit itself can be as long as 30 days (45 days for non-residents) while the permit application is processed…