Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2022 ‘Minimum Age to Purchase & Possess in Connecticut.’ Who Can Have a Gun. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 28 November
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]
Minimum Age to Purchase and Possess in Connecticut
A person must be at least 21 years old to obtain an eligibility certificate for a handgun.
Connecticut prohibits any person from selling, lending, giving, delivering or otherwise transferring any handgun to a person under age 21. A handgun may be transferred temporarily to a person under age 21 for target shooting or use on a shooting range if under the immediate supervision of a person eligible to possess a handgun.
There is no minimum age to possess a long gun. A "junior firearms hunting license" may be issued to a child between 12 and 16 years of age.
Connecticut also prohibits any person from transferring, selling or giving a machine gun to a person under age 16, including the temporary transfer of a machine gun to such person for use in target shooting or on a firing or shooting range or for "any other purpose."…