Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2023 ‘Minimum Age to Purchase & Possess in Massachusetts.’ Who Can Have a Gun. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 29 January
Minimum Age to Purchase and Possess in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, generally no one under 18 years of age may purchase a firearm or ammunition, and no one under 21 years of age may purchase a handgun, large capacity weapon or large capacity feeding device. See exceptions below for holders of Firearm Identification Cards ("FIDs").
Any person selling or furnishing a rifle, shotgun, machine gun or ammunition to any person under age 18 is criminally liable for a felony, as is any person selling or furnishing a handgun or large capacity rifle or shotgun or ammunition for those firearms to anyone under age 21.
Persons "more than 15 but less than 18 years of age" may apply for a FID if the applicant submits a certificate from his or her parent or guardian granting the applicant permission to apply for a FID. This exception allows persons 16 years of age and older to possess rifles and shotguns. In addition, any person under the age of 15 may use a rifle or shotgun for hunting or target shooting, provided that such use is otherwise permitted by law and is under the immediate supervision of a person holding a FID or a license to carry firearms, or who is a duly commissioned member of the military while in the performance of his or her duty. No hunting or sporting license may be granted to a minor under age 15. Applicants for a Class A or B license must be at least 21 years of age…
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]