Citation(s) from the literature library

UNODA. 2007 ‘Central American Programme on Small Arms Control.’ United Nations Programme of Action Implementation Support System: Regional Organisations. New York, NY: Central American Integration System / United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs. 1 January

Relevant contents

Central American Programme on Small Arms Control.

The Central American Project to prevent and combat the illicit trade in small arms and light weapons [SALW] was approved during the 26th Meeting of the Security Commission of Central America in 2003. It outlined the following objectives:

- To harmonize the laws regulating the control of SALW;
- To improve the national capabilities in the control of firearms;
- To promote the program of collection and destruction of SALW;
- To promote the program of prevention and reduction of injuries and casualties due to the misuse of SALW;
- To improve the technical skill and technological level to tackle the issue of illicit SALW;
- To contribute to the formation of a culture of peace.

Following this initiative and within the framework provided by the Joint Declaration of the Chiefs of State and Governments of the SICA Member States during their 24th Meeting, a joint UNDP/SICA project called "Programa Centroamericano de Control de Armas Pequeñas y Ligeras" (the Central American Programme on Small Arms Control or CASAC) was launched in 2007 for a period of three years. The goal of the programme is to promote sustainable development by reducing the incidence and the potential of armed violence through the use of a common regional frame to strengthen the SALW control in Central America…

The Central American Integration System (SICA) is an institutional framework designed to facilitate the eventual economic and political integration of Central America. It was first established in 1991 following the failure of the Central American Common Market (CACM) during the late 1970s. SICA is listed by the United Nations as one of the sixteen intergovernmental organizations that have been granted permanent observer status in the General Assembly. The SICA membership includes Guatemala, El Salvador, Belize, Panama, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica plus the Dominican Republic.

ID: Q3221

As many publishers change their links and archive their pages, the full-text version of this article may no longer be available from the original link. In this case, please go to the publisher's web site or use a search engine.