Citation(s) from the GunPolicy.org literature library
Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 2022 ‘Concealed Carry in Kansas.’ Guns in Public. San Francisco, CA: Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. 25 September
Concealed Weapons Permitting in Kansas
Kansas does not prohibit the carrying of a concealed firearm if the person has a concealed weapons license.
As of January 1, 2007, Kansas is a "shall issue" state, meaning that the attorney general must issue a concealed weapons license if the applicant meets certain qualifications. The attorney general must issue a license if the applicant:
- Is a resident of the county where the application is made and has been a resident of the state for six months;
- Is 21 years of age or older;
- Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal or Kansas law; and
- Presents evidence satisfactory to the attorney general that he or she has satisfactorily completed a weapons safety and training course approved by the attorney general (see below for further information).
A law enacted in Kansas in 2010 removed a number of disqualifying categories which had previously prevented certain other individuals from obtaining licenses. The law also allows new residents of Kansas to carry concealed weapons while their application for a Kansas license is pending so long as they hold a valid license from a state whose license Kansas recognizes, and allows Kansas license holders to retain their licenses for 90 days after they relocate outside the state.
Kansas law gives the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence or the chief law enforcement officer of any law enforcement agency discretion to submit, within 45 days after receipt of the application, a voluntary report to the attorney general containing readily discoverable information corroborated through public records, which, when combined with another enumerated factor establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat to law enforcement or the public at large than the average citizen.) The attorney general may deny the application based solely on the report submitted by the sheriff or other chief law enforcement officer.
Firearm Safety Training
An applicant for a Kansas concealed weapons license must present evidence satisfactory to the attorney general that he or she has satisfactorily completed a weapons safety and training course approved by the attorney general.
The attorney general is required to adopt rules and regulations establishing procedures and standards for the eight-hour weapons safety and training course. Such standards must include:
- A requirement that trainees receive training in the safe storage of weapons, actual firing of weapons, and instruction in the Kansas laws governing the carrying of a concealed weapon and the use of deadly force;
- General guidelines for courses which are compatible with the industry standard for basic firearms training for civilians;
- Qualifications for instructors; and
- A requirement that the course be certified or sponsored by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency, college, private or public institution or organization or weapons training school approved by the attorney general.
The following constitutes sufficient evidence of satisfactory completion of an approved weapons safety and training program:
- Evidence of completion of the course in the form provided by rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general; or
- An affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught such course attesting to the completion of the course by the applicant.
Duration & Renewal
Kansas licenses to carry concealed weapons are valid for a period of four years from the date of issuance.The attorney general must mail a notice of expiration and renewal form to the license holder at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license. A law enacted in Kansas in 2010 removed the requirement that the license holder re-qualify by completion of an approved weapons safety and training course.
Disclosure or Use of Information
Kansas does not allow personal application or license information of concealed weapons license holders to be made public. Records relating to persons issued licenses, applicants for licenses, or persons denied licenses are confidential and must not be disclosed in a manner which enables identification of any such person. However, records of a person whose license has been suspended or revoked are subject to public inspection. In addition, the attorney general maintains an automated listing of license holders and pertinent information, and such information is available upon request at all times to all law enforcement agencies when requested for a legitimate law enforcement purpose.
Kansas recognizes a valid license to carry concealed weapons issued by any other state or the District of Columbia as long as the holder is not a resident of Kansas, if the attorney general determines that the standards for issuance of such a license or permit are reasonably similar to or greater than the standards imposed by Kansas…
[Editor's note: The Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence regularly updates its webpages with new data as US gun regulation evolves state by state. For the most up-to-date information on US gun laws, please refer to the Giffords URL below]